ASR News & Announcements

Rachel Kraus, Executive Officer

Thank you to everyone who attended our 81th annual meeting in New York City and helped make it a great success.  I hope you all found intellectually engaging conversations, met some new people, and enjoyed NYC sites.  Highlights of this year’s meeting included Paula Nesbitt’s Presidential Address, Peter Beyer’s Furfey Lecture, “Religion in Interesting Times: Contesting Form, Function, and Future,” two joint ASR-ASA Sessions, five book salons and discussions, and a joint ASR-ASA Religion Section Reception.  The annual meeting also featured two professionalization workshops focusing on teaching sociology of religion and Louisville Institute research funding opportunities for social scientific studies of religion.  Along with our McNamara and Distinguished Article Awards, we also presented our third Lifetime Achievement Award.  Further details about these and other aspects of the annual meeting are available on the ASR website at

The results of ASR’s 2019 election were also announced at this year’s meeting.  Every year we elect a President-elect and three Council members from our membership.  James Spickard was elected to the position of President-elect, which means that he will succeed ASR’s current incoming president, James C. Cavendish.  The three new Council members, who will serve for three year terms, are Besheer Mohamed, Rachel Rinaldo, and Genevieve Zubrzycki.  Tia Noelle Pratt was elected as our first secretary.  Congratulations to all those elected, and thanks to all of the nominees for their willingness to let their names go forward in the election.  Paula Nesbitt, our Immediate Past-President, will be the Chair of the Nominations Committee for our 2020 election.  Please contact me at if you are interested in potentially running for an elected position and/or serving on one of ASR’s standing committees.